Light-O-Rama Forums

Unable to locate Light O Rama Port

Jnorieaga

I am a newbie with the Light O Rama equipment, last year I bought 2 PC-CTB16PC, S3 Software - Basic Plus SW-BasicPlus and a USB-RS485 Communications USB485. I connected it to my desktop computer and it worked great the entire Christmas holiday. I just pulled it out and installed the S3 Basic plus software to my laptop and when I try to locate the controller using the USB-RS485 I keep getting " PORT NOT FOUND. UNABLE TO LOCATE THE LIGHT O RAMA PORT. CHECK THAT THE CONTROLLER IS CONNECTED AND POWERED ON. " I have uninstalled and re installed the driver, I have tried probably 10 different CAT 5 E cables and still the same problem.

I'm at a loss and could use all the help I can get.

Thanks

I just did a system restore on my laptop for an issue not related to the Light-O-Rama so I had to reinstall the Light-O-Rama software so now it comes up with port comm 3 but I still can't locate the controllers.

Guest wbottomley

Go to your device manager and find what comm port the adapter is on. Then place that number in the HU and all should be good. Restoring your PC will not resolve the problem but only make it harder to diagnose.

I didn't restore my computer due to this problem with the Light-O-Rama controller, I really didn't want to but had to. So in the Device Manager under Universal Serial Bus Controller the Usb Serial Converter the location is Port_#0002.Hub_#0003. So I went into the Ports ( Com & LPT ) and went into the port settings and then the advanced part and changed the Comm Port settings to Comm 2. I then go into Light-O-Rama and then I click on Light O Rama Hardware and I click on Comm 2 since it is the only option I have and then Auto Configure and I still get the same message that the controller can't be found.

Also the driver that is installed on my laptop is the FTDI Version 2.8.24.0, if that helps.

As you saying you cannot find your LOR Controller now.

What ID number is the controller?