Light-O-Rama Forums

the wife has snapped the wallet shut

bschwotzer

I don't know if any of you have had the same experience. This is my first year and we bought a controller and the software. I have been programing like mad, and have 10 song done. The day before she snapped the wallet shut, I told her I wish that I had another 16 or 32 channels, an fm transmitter, and  I still had to buy stuff to build a tree. I told her that I'm not sure I have time to program another 16 channels and build the props I have planned. I guess I should have kept quiet. I have been told that we need to seriously watch our spending. She has been supportive but the line has been drawn. I have all the light strings I need, just got pulled back a little short of where I wanted to be for the first year. Have any of you run into this or have I fallen in too deep to this hobby? After the first year did your spouse become more or less supportive?

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• indi

• Santas Helper

• rainyoregonchristmas

• bschwotzer

my wife complains on the money I spent this year (and yes it is my first year) but yet when we go to the store she keeps asking if I need anything and looks at decorations with me and suggests things for me to add

Im starting a small Christmas based business to support my habit. She gets half of the profit... when I break even.

LMAO !!

Mine went mental, that I went mental at Home Depot... "Watch our spending", that is an UNDERSTATEMENT, compared to the tongue lashing I got....... 

slippery, you have given me an idea.... If I take her WITH me, and mine does the same as yours, THEN I can buy more.... hehehehehehe !!!!!!

Greg

I read here years ago that somebody suggested making sure you spend enough that she won't be able to afford a divorce lawyer.