Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie Question: How/where Do I Save My Audio And Sequence Files?

robo

First just wanted to say that I love this LOR hobby. This is my first year and have 64 channels ready to go. But I'm having an issue finding the sequences and the matching audio files? I keep everything on my desktop so I can find them easily. But when I try to find them through show editor some are not there under desktop, yet I see the files on my desktop?

Also is whats the best place to keep the files together instead of searching all the time. Seems like I keep getting repeat files on my desktop? I'm running out of room. Please keep your answers simple as I'm not IT guy. Thanks again for any help! Rob Mr. Newbie:P

The default LOR Data directory is where your audio, sequence and show files are located. (Along with your Visualization folders, etc.) When you first ran Light-O-Rama you were asked where you want to put this directory.

If you didn't choose your desktop as the data directory the very first time you ran the software, then other programs, such as the show editor, are not going to look at the desktop first, they are going to look in the default data directory you chose (from the first paragraph.) This would be why when you open the Show Editor, the program isn't 'seeing' the files; they aren't where the Show Editor has been told to look.

The 'repeat' files are due to a backup copy saved each time you save the file. (That's one of them.) There are two other files created, which you are probably seeing as well.

The best place to keep the files, at least in my opinion, is in the LOR data directory. The more sequences you have, the more files you will have cluttering up your desktop.

If you've forgotten what you chose as the default directory, just want to change it, here is how. (Text copied from Bob at Light-O-Rama)