Light-O-Rama Forums

Sequence builder for rgb targets. meighan.net/seqbuilder/index.php

smeighan

Hello LOR community;

I am new to all of this. I have only used the Mr Christmas 6 channel light controllers from Home Depot. Over the next year i plan on getting 6 Lynx express, some of the smart strings and build a mega tree, I do not think i will be using LOR yet, i will start with Vixen.

I decided to build a tool to create sequences on target RGB objects. The output of this tool will work for LOR/Vixen/LSP.

Some info on the design of the sequencer.

The entire tool is web based.
Select math model on the left side of web page
1) Cone
2) Plane
3) Fan

For each model i have various mathematical algorithms to create images. For example code that produces a spiral line on the cone. The math model output (X,Y,Z) is written to a file.

On the right side of the web page is the models to project on. I have finished the code for creating a megatree with any number of segments.
1) Megatree. You define the number of segments (ie. 8, 16, 32 .et.c), the number of pixels per leg, the channel number, the starting and ending pixel number., the height of the megatree and the radius. With this i create the output model. X,Y,Z, channel, pixel. One datapoint for all. so if you had 16 channels and 60 pixels per leg there would be 960 data points written to a target model file. Web page builds the file X,Y,Z,Channel, Pixel#

2) Flat plane of vertical LEDs. The matrix of LED's all located in x,y,z space. TBD
3) A snowman, 10' tall. Three spheres. This is just to show that the target models can be any shape. TBD

Example:
I create a 10' high cone with 2.5' radius. I run the model for spirals across the cone.
I move the 10' cone on top of the model for the megatree.
I then map the model file of x,y,z data to the target model by finding the distance of each pixel from the target using d = sqrt (( x1-x2)**2 + (y1-y2)**2 + (z1-z2)**2))