Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie with a few questions...

dackjob2

So I'm a newbie to LOR and after this year I'm looking to get a few items for next year. I was wondering about where do you get smart pixel lights strands that work with the LOR dangles? Seen a bunch on amazon but.... I'm looking at getting a Pixie 16 12V (I think?). I'm looking to just do a mini director, a mega tree, the Pixie 16, and a CCII with the bulb type lights for the roof line. Any suggestions, guidance, help would be greatly appreciated. 

The pixels that come with the Pixie 2's (CCII) are a very good quality and I've had zero issues with them. If and when you have issues, you want a vendor/supplier to be able to help LOR does great job with that. You also have the option to buy most of what you want pre-made from LOR ready to go it will cost you more but again service and support are worth their weight Gold when you need it.

If you go the build it yourself route, I bought my pixels from WELL KNOWN vendors (like Wired Watts and Wally's Lights) I would not skimp of the cheapest pixels I could find for my first dive into pixels. The Pixie 16 (not the **PIXCON 16**) is a great and easy to use pixel controller and you can use just about any 12v power supply and pixels with it. There is sort of a "normal" case if you can find them called a cable guard CG1500 has plenty of room for 1 or 2 power supply's and the controller to fit in. You will also have to decide on the type of pig tails ends you want to use with your Pixie 16, most go with Ray Wu or xConnect or LOR... you have options just pick one style and stay with it. You will also need extensions for the Pixie 16 to the pixels so keep that in mind too, I ran about 150 ft of extensions this year.