Light-O-Rama Forums

Using an LOR1602 as a stand alone unit

DKFCP

I'm new to the multi-channel xmas lights game.  For years I've added more and more light strands and finally last year I jumped into multi-channel with an inexpensive 8-channel controller that I purchased on Amazon Prime.  I'm 100% LED, c7 and c9.  

This year I'd like to make more of an impact and was thinking about purchasing a unit from Light-O-Rama.

Rather than spending the time to sequence everything (I don't have any PCs in the house anyway), I thought I would just use the LOR standalone to set up 16 extra channels of flashers/chasers on top of my current 8-channels.

From what I have read, the LOR1602 is in-fact useable as a stand-alone unit.  

Questions:

-is this a good beginner's box to start off with?

-what's the difference in the pro/consumer boxes--is it just that one is metal and the other is plastic?

-any other things I need to look out for or keep in mind?

I've been scouring these forums and don't want to bother anyone but any light that can be shed would be fabulous.

Regards,
DKFCP

Even in stand alone you would still need a computer to get the sequence in to the controllers on board memory. The sequence would be limited in the number of commands, 10,000 I think, and there would be no music so you would just have blinky lights.

Thanks guys,

I don't know if this unit is right for me.  I really was hoping it would be plug-and-play and that I would only have one option to mess with:  the speed that it would run through the channels.  

Ill keep taking a look at everything to see if I can make it happen.

regards,

DKFCP