Light-O-Rama Forums

Best approach to power my RGB LED Strips - HELP

jashewmaker

Hello. I'll be honest, I am completely new to LOR and RGB devices. I've been watching tons of videos on YouTube by HolidayCoro and LOR, but I still need some additional device from some of you pros out there. Below I have posted an image of the right of my house with a quick sketch of where I will be placing the RGB LED strips for the 2015 season. I plan on purchasing the LOR CTB16PC and the LOR CMB24D and a 12V power supply. I will be securing them in weatherproof containers just between the front door and the window on the right. 

I need advice on the best approach of powering the LED strips (each window, door I want to be independently controlled). What extension cables would be recommended? I've been seeing lots of discussion on RGB signal amplification. Is that something that I would need as well?

http://postimg.org/image/u5sb4cb3r/

Thanks for the help in advance!

-Adam

I use a 5a power supply from a small TV and one that came with the first lot of RGB lights I got. Almost all need 12v. 5050 30LED/m needs 24 watts, 60LED needs 48 (For 5m strips, which are most popular). Wattage is calculated by multiplying voltage by currant, so 12v * 5a is 60, which can power one 300 LED strip. (I power a flood and a strip)

The controller you were looking at for your strips has two power inputs, which each drive 4 RGB channels. Try to even out the load so you don't need a huge power supply on one side and a weak tony one doing the other. 
You will most likely need to cut them, so work out how much you need for the lengths you are using, and add some to be safe.

EDIT: Leave a bit of headroom. Too much is good, too little is bad, especially if you plan on expanding and don't want to be buying more power supplies.