Light-O-Rama Forums

Venting - People who pretend they know what they are talking about

tbetgeorge

Just venting...

I know it's ridiculous to expect Home Depot or Lowe's to staff stores only with experts or general contractors out-of-work, so I go in knowing I'm going to often get people with little or no experience - no prob. I HATE, however, when I ask a question from a worker only for them to say complete nonsense and say it like they're an expert. If you don't have the answer, please kindly get someone who does. Please don't feel the need to make up an answer or simply tell me what a lot of other people buy.

Today, a girl who looked about 17 tried to tell me, "if it's bare wood - you don't need primer." She then went on and on about things that I knew were way off. I'm no expert myself, but I've been building most of my life and can tell when something is way off. I felt bad, but then asked her what she PERSONALLY had experience with, and if she didn't have the experience, please ask someone who does. She said, sure - let me get the other paint person. Of course, another high schooler with no knowledge. Had to go to three hardware stores today before I found someone with actual experience. The last store had a guy who know what he was doing, had a chip on his shoulder that he worked at Home Depot, but at least I was able to get the answers I needed...

Edited by tbetgeorge

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• a31ford

• Shubb

• George Simmons

• SoCalJimH

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I feel your pain!   I went into one of those big box stores and asked the clerk to cut me 36 inches of tubing from a bulk spool.  He said "sorry, we only sell it by the foot".   The thought of my knee-jerk reaction would only serve to get me banned so I just thanked him and walked away.