Light-O-Rama Forums

Surge Protection?

Coppell

Hey, I was wondering, if it would do my Light o ramas any good, if i surge protected them. Do they have protectors built it? or are they tough enough to handle a surge? Just wondering incase I should protect them. This is my first year so thanks for the help.

-Brian

Guest wbottomley

Hey, I was wondering, if it would do my Light o ramas any good, if i surge protected them. Do they have protectors built it? or are they tough enough to handle a surge? Just wondering incase I should protect them. This is my first year so thanks for the help.

-Brian

Wasting your time. Plug them in and forget about them.

Wasting your time. Plug them in and forget about them.

I can almost agree with you, but I fried 2 CCR controllers due to a power surge. Now my situation is not common as I was running off a large portable generator so a surge protector is a must for something similar.

If you getting power from your residence...plug them and don't worry as stated. You have a better chance falling off your ladder then damaging your controllers from a surge.

All my controllers are on a GFI, but read many times from other members GFI setting all the time. Last year 2 of my GFI's pop and lost power output. I never figured out what happen, but the little green light on the GFI would still come on and reset it and worked fine...just no power coming out? I replaced them and power output worked again.

Oh, well ok. So you recommend protecting CCR controllers but not regular controllers? Thanks!

-Brian

To clarify - Kevin said that he was running off generator power, which with the exception of a few generators output fluctuating AC.

Bottom line, if using a generator, always have some sort of surge protection. If running off house AC, it's not necessary for standard controllers, or CCR controllers.

It's not the controller that is the issue, it's the power source...