Light-O-Rama Forums

flash to the music?

cnobles21

so i am brand new to the lightorama thing. i have several projects in mind. i plan to create some pretty cool christmas and halloween light displays like the ones i see on youtube. also i do some dj-ing at alot of my friends partys and other events. i was wonddring if there is any sort of tutorial on how to take different channels and make them flash to the bass, mids, or high notes of whatever song is playing on my playlist without creating a separate sequence for each song. i have not received my lor software yet and am just trying to get ahead of the game. i basically want some lights to flash to the bass, others to flash to the mids and highs for all songs that are playing. is there a simple way to do that with this software and make it automated so i dont have to create a sequence for every song for a playlist that is several hours long?

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• JBullard

• LightORamaDan

• WilliamS

• Dr. Jones

Top Posters In This Topic

I have never used it, and it's a few years old, but here's a thread that discusses a Windows Media Player visualization plug-in to try out.

http://forums.lightorama.com/view_topic.php?id=31045&forum_id=25&highlight=Wmp+plugin

Short answer was given by Don above. And would definitely suggest you download the software and play with it. Read the S3 user's manual to ge familiar with the features. Check the video tutorials that are available via the link at the top of this page.

This obsession, er, I mean hobby, is a blast, but it is quite time consuming to put on good shows. There are no real shortcuts and no substitute for lots of experimentation.

Oh, and this forum has lots of good info, but its search capability is not very good. I recommend going off-site to Google and using it to search for stuff here. For example, from Google, you might search on "LOR forum xxxxxxx" to find stuff on this forum discussing "xxxxxxx".