Light-O-Rama Forums

New User - Trying to get a Pixie4 controller to play a test sequence

jtindale

Hello all,

I'm very new to this so sorry for the loose terminology, naming mistakes, etc.

I'm a new light show user.  Just set my first one up this week.  I largely have AC lights on a 16 channel LOR controller (unit 1) playing a few songs.  That is working.

I'm trying to add a singing tree.  I have prop loaded into the sequence editor and set to units 2-5 (screenshot attached).  I have a little sample sequence setup to light up different parts of the tree and this is working in the preview view in the sequence editor.  However if I hook the controller up to my laptop and try to play the show, none of the LED lights light up during the show. 

I can use the control panel to test the prop and I get all three port/units to light up.

What I am missing?

LOR-SingingTree-Prop-1.png

19 minutes ago, Jimehc said:

That is not a DUMB RGB Prop - that is a smart prop.... On the left side pane > Select the "RGB Pixels" option

Thanks, Jimehc. I’ve tried both smart and dumb pixels in my troubleshooting. I’ll flip it back to rgb pixels and try again. 

4 minutes ago, tlogan said:

Maybe someone can confirm, but don't the Pixies need to be on a faster network than the Regular network?

You can have the REGular network be at any speed, including 500k or 1000k.

@Don Thanks. I would have "liked" your response but I'm not seeing the Like button.

I guess my next question then, is, can the AC controller run at the higher speed? My Gen 3s are a couple of years old and I thought when I bought hem they couldn't run above 500. I've never had to update the FW and when I added Pixies I put them on second AUX network. I've never had any issues, but I am curious. 

4 minutes ago, tlogan said:

@Don Thanks. I would have "liked" your response but I'm not seeing the Like button.