Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie trying to understand Pixielink

sodajosh

So I am brand new to pixels and attended my first expo this year. I have a large property and was advised that using Pixielinks would be the best route for me. I also have ZERO knowledge on DMX universes and how they run. I will have 21 Pixie8 controllers and 4 regular AC controllers at various points of the layout. When I attempt to play a sequence with the LOR USB-485 connected to first Pixie8, daisy chained to second Pixie8, daisy chained to third Pixie8, it works fine. But due to distances I was advised to use 4 Pixielinks with network switches based on my layout. When I plug the network cable into a network switch, then into the Pixielink, then daisy chain the Pixie8s after that, I get nothing. My questions are:

1. In this setup I should NOT be using USB-485 adapter, right?

2. What do the Unit IDs need to be set to in the preview? DMX or Unit IDs

3. If my PC does not have an Ethernet port and I am using a USB to Ethernet adapter, is that a problem?

Thanks for any help!

Josh

image0.jpeg

Just curious: Why not home run (to PL) more of those Pixies? That LOR network (the PL port) is getting busy :)

Edited by TheDucks

1 hour ago, sodajosh said:

I will have 21 Pixie8 controllers and 4 regular AC controllers at various points of the layout.

That sound like a LOT of pixels.  Distance is not your issue with wanting to use the PixieLink devices, but rather simply number of connections required.  Unless some of those Pixie controllers are lightly loaded, if you were running RS-485, you could easily need a dozen or more LOR networks - each with it's own USB to RS-485 adapters.  That is certainly doable, but may or may not be practical.  Distance on the RS-485 networks is generally not a big issue as that can be up to 4,000 feet.   Ethernet on the other hand is limited to 100 meters between network devices.

1. In this setup I should NOT be using USB-485 adapter, right?