Light-O-Rama Forums

RBG: controlling 100 pixels (I am stuck with what is most likely a super simple issue)

Master Edd

Hi all, first of all, THANK YOU for everyone's support, these LOR threads have saved me before, and this is the first time I've had to post. I am new to RGB and hoping for a nudge in the right direction...

I have 2 Pixie2D (v3) controllers with 8 strings of (50) smart RGB nodes, all from LOR. I want to control up to 100 pixels per port (2 strings) and up to 200 pixels per controller, but no matter what I have tried, when I connect 2 strings to 1 port it either does not work at all, or the string acts like a dumb string. Based on what I gathered from @dibblejr videos and posts, I believe I need to do 2 things:

1. set the pixel number to 100 pixels per port in the Pixie Config in the HU (leaving log-res as 50)
  2. REMOVE the jumper from JP5 (so there will be NO jumper)

Is this accurate, and is that it? (I want to check before removing any jumpers and accidentally experiencing the magic smoke, lol).

3 additional noob questions:

• Can each pixie port run up to 170 pixel nodes (@30%)? Meaning my little pixie 2 can run 340 pixels? If so, would I simply increase the HU config to 170 pixels?
  • How do the pixie channels work once I get the controller to play nice? My first Pixie is channel 20... so, is port 1 = channel 20, and port 2 = channel 21? Or is port 1/string1 = channel 20, and port 1/string 2 = channel 21, port 2/1 = ch3, 2/2 = ch4?
  • And finally... I have added/downloaded some props in the S5 visualizer only to find I am unable to edit in the sequencer - such as a star shape, or a tree. The channels are 'hashed' out and I am unable to sequence. Any way around this? Or do I just need to draw my own shapes?

Apologies for the long post - and thanks a ton,

Keith

51 minutes ago, Master Edd said: