Light-O-Rama Forums

help required

higgs

hi guys

im new to light o roma looking at moving to light o roma this year just have a few questions if any can help would be very great full

(1) what voltage lights/ out does light o roma use ? ( as i have seen many set ups using what looks like standard lights 240v

(2) if standard 240v are use how to u get away with using them outside and the rain?

Hi Higgs, welcome to the hobby.

Unfortunately, I think you're asking questions so general, that you could get a wide variety of correct answers, but I think I have a good idea of where you're going. 

First, I humbly recommend hitting the Light O Rama website.  http://www1.lightorama.com/.   Look at the different controllers, typical set-ups, product descriptions, and product specs.    Second, you may find the multitude of tutorials on YouTube to be very helpful in harnessing the experience of the multi-year veterans on this site.   Many of the folks here are extremely adept at answering your technical questions and got my family through our first year last year, but you have to know what to ask to get the best response.

To answer your question directly,  LOR has products for a number of different technologies.  You're specifically asking about their AC controller product lines.   Yes, they are designed to support both 120vac and 240vac.  http://www1.lightorama.com/residential-light-controllers/   They provide switched AC power to up to 16 outputs.   The outputs are most often storebought Christmas light strings which simply plug in as easily as a lamp would. 

To create your display outside, I would first highly recommend you ensure that any light string you buy is rated for exterior use.  Follow your local electrical code, observe normal electrical safety practices, and if you have GFI capability, definately use it.   240VAC ups the safety risk quite a bit.