Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie 1st Year setup experiences

zeighty

This is my first year. Here are a few things that might help a Newbie starting next year.

Two of the overwhelming topics below are planning and time. You cannot do enough of one and you will need more of the other. 

I know now why I saw so many post from veterans mentioning starting their setups in October and early November. 

If the info below helps one next year newbie, then it will be worth the time it took to recollect and type it. 

If you have experiences please share them... 

Merry Christmas to all! 

zeighty 

Some background: 

1 1602w Controller

CTB16PC Controller 

FM Transmitter - Fail Safe - FS-CZH-05B (works great by the way) 

USB485 adapter

S3 ver 3.9 (upgrade after Christmas show) 

LED lights - a few M6 mostly C6

Lights

1. Don't assume those that you already own will work. Test all of your strings before hanging. 
  2. Buy quality LED fully rectified strings - the difference is very significant (brighter, dimmable, etc). Mine came from Holiday 
  3. Size decision: I thought my dozen or so M6 were going to be significantly different from C6. Hard to see the difference in my show from 40 feet away. i Prefer C6 (7 & 9) over M6
  4. When connecting 2 shorter strings, be sure to overlap the gap created by the lead in and out wire; use wire ties
  5. When doing your setup and unpacking lights from bags, do not accidentally throw away a 100 White light string  :(

Controllers / Physical layout 

1. Design your physical layout early. Your logical layout you had to do to sequence properly, but your physical layout is very different. I over simplified mine in my head. Have a plan and only change it if he is absolutely necessary. 
  2. I could have saved a lot of time had I decided to mount my controllers on the side of my house before setup day.