Light-O-Rama Forums

Lor With Multiple HolidayCoro 3 Channel DMX Controllers

strungUP

Hello everyone! I am very new to the Madness and I like to move ahead slow when I get myself into a new hobby. I purchased the sample kit from HolidayCoro and have been playing with the lights and honing my soldering skills. I managed to hook up the programming cable and get it working in Xlights. I found that I can use this programming dongle to hook up the lights in LOR. I want to use LOR so I will be purchasing the program and 1 AC Controller. I want to add 6 RGB elements also (for now!). I understand I need the full version of LOR for DMX. My plan is to build a rough model of my yard on my desk and sequence using this setup. My questions are,

1. I want to add 6 of those 3 channel dmx controllers and eventually use them inside display items. Can I use my ONE programming cable, give each controller a different start address and daisy chain ALL 6 of the controllers and have it ALL controlled in LOR as 6 DMX channels along with the 16 channels from the AC Controller?

2 If I can, what would be the best way? CAT5 splitters?

I hope I am thinking in the right direction! Thanks

Looks like you will have TWO networks; one for LOR stuff and one for DMX stuff.

The LOR network will have an LOR USB485 unit that plugs into your computers usb port and connects to your 16 channel AC controller using Cat5 network cable.

The DMX network will need a usb-DMX unit that plugs into a different usb port on your computer then on it's way to the Holidaycoro controllers; to the first one, then the second one then the final one. Most people use Cat5 network cable here also, only because it's cheap.

Just remember to NOT connect them together.

From Holidaycoro, you should get one of their controller programmer things so you can change their DMX addresses.

In the LOR software, everything can be easily put together without you having to worry about which network your lights are on.