Light-O-Rama Forums

FM Transmitter vs Outdoor Speakers

JF1993

It's crunch time, and I need to either buy/make some outdoor speakers, or purchase a FM transmitter. In my case I'm leaning a little more towards the speakers only because I live on the busiest street in my town, and people can't park their cars in front of my house to listen over the radio. I'm just worried about the "noise pollution" problem. Each side has it's ups and downs. What do you think I should do?

I started with the outdoor speakers during my first year, but went to the transmitter after 3 days due to the noise pollution problem.

This is my first year out, so I'm doing both speakers and FM transmitter(EDM-RDS). The audio to the front yard will only be for the first show of the night, then I'll shut it down so as not to disturb the neighbors. I bought a "Tune To" sign and wired it up with lights for the frequency. There is only one other home in the whole neighboring many towns that does this type of display and they get a lot of cars lined up for blocks. I don't expect traffic like this as no one knows yet that I'll be doing it here other than a few neighbors. Next year might be another matter.

Do both. then if you don't like one you still have the other. you can always find speakers really cheap (good will for example).

I do both and my speakers stay on for the entire show. But I keep them low enough they CAN NOT be heard inside my home or any of my neighbors, they can only be heard if you're outside and close to my house. This way it doesn't disturb my neighbors, fortunately I am not on a busy street, that in itself could pose a problem because if the street is busy, and folks can't park to watch the display from any point, I'd think the street being that busy, and the noise from all the vehicles travelling down the street passing by ARE NOT going to hear your music from speakers, not unless they were cranked way up past the comfort level of your neighbors.