Light-O-Rama Forums

DMX Newbie

Discotech24

I want to go to some RGB DMX control next year, but am still unclear as to what is required, so many things posted in so my posts in this forum, head is spinning. First question, can I plug a DMX controller into the second RJ45 port on my original LOR 16 channel controller(perhaps with some rewiring of the connector on the wire) and just control the DMX universe that way? Second, if this is not possible what is the easiest and cheapest way to start into RGB DMX. Essentially I would like to make my house similar to the one on YouTube featuring the song from LMFAO, maybe not next year but that is the direction I would like to head. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am an electronics technician so I have access to alot of hardware and components to do whatever I need to in order to make it cheaper(i.e. make my own cables, adapters etc.)Check the video, I'm sure most have seen it.

First answer -> Prior to S3 you needed an iDMX1000 to plug run your LOR network into your DMX network. S3 software allows you to buy a DMX dongle to run your dmx network. Thus you would have two networks, LOR and DMX. With that said, this document tells you how to run your LOR controller as DMX. http://www.lightorama.com/Documents/DMX-DOC.pdf. Again to run dmx you need a DMX dongle like an Enttec.

2) The least expensive way to go is to use the $45 Enttec (Open DMX protocol). Howerver, I use the pro - $110. The difference is the pro does the timing, the open your computer does the timing.

There are several DYI projects where you can build a pro for about $45. Google Martin DMX and DIY Lightamation DMX. BUT, Why when you can get one that works.

I have read and hopefully someone else chimes in that the LOR RS485 can also do DMX. But again, two networks.

Hope this helps shed some light on this for you!