Light-O-Rama Forums

Need A Little Help Soldering

Ralph A

This is my first time to solder a small kit. In this case a Ramsey Antenna kit. I have a new Aoyue 937 soldering station and will be using .031 rosin core solder.

In the kit for the antenna the directions state to solder using 35 to 40 watts. OK? My station is set by degrees. To what temperature should I be soldering for the circuit board and its components?

Also, (I feel dumb here) which side of the board is the top? With the silver or the side with the writing?

Thanks for the guidance, Ralph

vipzach wrote:

"To me, the top of the board is the side with the components on it."

SO that means the side with the writing is the top and the side with the small circles of silver (solder) is the bottom, correct?

Ralf,

On just about 100% of circuit cards, the side with the writing is the top.

As for temp, 700 to 800 degrees is typical with circuit cards. Remember, the hotter the iron, the quicker you need to sold the connection and get off. Some components can get damaged if heated up too long. A lower temp gives you a little more flexability while learning. Soldering ground planes takes a little longer so keep that in mind as well.

And lastly, it doesn't take very much solder per connection so try not to blob on the solder. When you see the melted solder get sucked in the hole with a small cone shape going up the wire, you know you have a good solder.

I use a magnifying glass on a stand with a light to see what I'm doing. Makes soldering MUCH easier for me.

Hope this helps and good luck,

Hi Ralph,