Light-O-Rama Forums

A quick question about GE LED light strings

geekboy

I have been using Noma LED lights for two years now, and this year have managed to replace all of my lights with LED strings and nets. Fine - I have never had any issues with this brand of LED lights - no terminators, no glitches, no channels stuck on, nothing.

BUT - I wanted to build a new feature this year, and when I was doing my planning I found the General Electric brand LED lights at Lowes for a VERY good price. However, I notice the box says that you shouldn't put more than three strings end to end. Is there something different about these lights? The Noma lights had no such warning or caveat. Will the GE lights work with a standard LOR controller?

I have three 1602 units, if that matters.

MarkHornblower wrote:

I have been using Noma LED lights for two years now, and this year have managed to replace all of my lights with LED strings and nets. Fine - I have never had any issues with this brand of LED lights - no terminators, no glitches, no channels stuck on, nothing.

BUT - I wanted to build a new feature this year, and when I was doing my planning I found the General Electric brand LED lights at Lowes for a VERY good price. However, I notice the box says that you shouldn't put more than three strings end to end. Is there something different about these lights? The Noma lights had no such warning or caveat. Will the GE lights work with a standard LOR controller?

I have three 1602 units, if that matters.

UL just changed the requirement this year for all Christmas Lights. This happened in the spring time. Not all manufacturers had time to print the correct statements this year on the boxes. This includes incandescence and LED's. Old 2007 stock will also still have the three string rule.