Light-O-Rama Forums

At a Loss With Freezing Props

c7williams

Hi All, 

I am hoping one of you can help me out. I have been doing shows for about 10 years now and introduced pixels a few years back. My show currently has 12 networks with over 64,000 lights with 23,000 of those lights being pixels.

This year I just cannot figure out why my props are freezing. By freezing I am referring to props getting stuck on an effect and staying stuck until a new effect comes across and clears the last one. My pixel networks are as follows

Network

Pixel Count

Aux A

Aux B

Aux C

Aux D

Aux E

Aux F

Aux G

Aux H

Aux I

Aux J

Aux L

At first I was thinking the networks on which the props were freezing (Aux A & Aux G) had too much data on the network so I moved some props around to take some load off the network. Once this was done I noticed less props freezing but some still did. Then I moved around some more props and noticed props from a completely different network were now freezing. I then double checked that all my networks were running on the enhanced 1000k speed (with the HS adapters) and they all were. My next troubleshooting attempt was to move one of the problematic networks off the USB hub and into a direct port in the show laptop thinking the hub was having issues passing through all that data. Once again, no luck.

I am running the second last release of S6. I am extremely confused and frustrated at this point. Any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Few things off the top of my head...

There have been multiple small bug fixes in recent versions. And in 6.2.18 there were some more bug fixes, so trying the latest version might help.
On the last Pixie on each network,  install jumper on J4 to connect 120Ω termination resistor.

As a *VERY* last resort, check the firmware version on each controller.

4 minutes ago, Don said:

Few things off the top of my head...