Light-O-Rama Forums

Adding pixie 16 to CTB16PC existing show

Akabigred

Hey everyone. Looked through a tons of posts and couldn’t find my exact problem. I’m new to pixels. Ordered pixie 16 and pixels 12mm strings. Set up stand alone by itself like booklet said to do. I can see unit pixie 16 ver 1.10 ( I did assign to unit 2) tried to plug in and test lights and nothing. I’m lost. 1st - do I need the pro license first to even text them in HU ? 2nd I am using just the black standard 485 usb connector (I ordered the red ) help as I am lost. 

2 issues pop out to me.

A Pixi16 uses 16 ID's, so BASIC seriously does not cut it.

Pixies want a Fast network (500K-1M) and enhanced mode for anything with rapid changes. That is Pro territory

If you do not have a Gen3 AC controller, it can't do 500K or enhanced, so a separate network is needed because they need to be on different networks.

Tested? Did you use the white button on the Pixie to run a self test pattern?  

What was the LED on the Pixie doing? 

Thank you for the response. Yes I know about the pro license I just literally haven’t upgraded it yet. Wanted to make sure everything works first. I do have the hen 3 AC unit. And have ordered the high speed adapter although some places say you don’t need it but adding more in the future I think I will need. The red led flashed until I found on network. Then solid red. The white button did not illuminate the leds though. 

15 hours ago, Akabigred said:

Thank you for the response. Yes I know about the pro license I just literally haven’t upgraded it yet. Wanted to make sure everything works first. I do have the hen 3 AC unit. And have ordered the high speed adapter although some places say you don’t need it but adding more in the future I think I will need. The red led flashed until I found on network. Then solid red. The white button did not illuminate the leds though.