Light-O-Rama Forums

DIY Coro Form & LED Questions (Gilbert Eng & General)

Yodlei

I'm a newbie & wanted to start making some forms myself for practice. Found some plain white CORO signs at Menard's & was going to try making some hearts, eggs, clovers for the upcoming holidays for use with LED & Incandescent string lights. Gilbert Engineering (& Holiday Coro as well) have some very cute pre-painted forms but some of the larger ones are very expensive. When I look under the mini-light section on Gilbert's site, some descriptions say "for use with mini lights or 12mm bullet pixels". Would the holes be the same size? Bullets look a lot fatter than LEDs.

For 2nd question, do Led/Incand lights fit tight in these holes & can lights be removed & replaced somewhat often so I don't have to buy duplicates of the same color to use for different holidays? Phrased another way, will attaching & removing lights degrade the stability of the holes (like when removing from Valentine form to use in a Christmas form)?

3rd question..only saw mention of 1 site with small count strings (10, 20, etc.) but found those smaller counts were normally only white & couldn't be used outside & HLE shows only as small as 35. Anyone know where can buy quality/outdoor smaller strings in colors?

4th question..anyone know where to buy incandescent replacement bulbs in weird colors (as in those window silhouettes)? re: pastel, frosted, etc.

PS...I'll add a tip I'm trying; found a heart window light I had that doesn't work fits just inside the perimeter of the smaller Coro sheet I bought & traced it onto the Coro. The notches that hold each light appear to be spaced out evenly so could place dots where the lights would poke through.

Surprised there isn't more DIY form info out there. DIY brings up more board & controller info than forms.