Light-O-Rama Forums

Easy Year to Year Installation

Moshack

Hey everyone! Somewhat of a newbie here. Last year I had a traditional 16 channel light controller with box store lights. But this year is be upgraded to a Pixie16 controller and I’ve purchased square pixels for my roof line. However, I’m trying to figure out a way to install the pixels on my roofline (edges and gutters) where I can easily put them up and take them down year after year easily. 

I’ve heard others using J Channel and drilling holes to insert the bulbs into but I’m not sure how easy that would be to slide the pixels into the J Channel. Plus I don’t know the best way to “install” that onto the house/gutters. 

So what is your preferred method of installing the lights onto your roofline and gutters? Do you manually install them each year or do you have a way to easily put them up and down each year? If the latter, how do you do it? Pictures or videos would be super helpful!

Thanks in advanced!

Matt

For my eves, I have the pixels mounted to 1x2 wooden strips.  The strips have hooks that mate with hooks on the eves.  I can mount the 210 pixels in about 15 minutes.

8 minutes ago, k6ccc said:

For my eves, I have the pixels mounted to 1x2 wooden strips.  The strips have hooks that mate with hooks on the eves.  I can mount the 210 pixels in about 15 minutes.

@k6ccc thanks for the suggestion! How do you mount the pixels to the wooden strips? Do you use staples, zip ties, hot glue, or something else?

I am using GE Color Effects bulb which come with a plastic clip that fits into the base of the bulb.  Part of the clip is intended to go over a gutter, but I remove that part and screw the clip into the wooden strip.