Light-O-Rama Forums

ELL issues

oilmoney

This is my first year using them. I am trying to transmit across the street , 50ft. For some reason the ELL's don't power up when connected to my RJ-485 adapter directly to my pc, they do however show power when connected to a PC-G3 controller. As my PC will not supply power to the ELL I cannot update the firmware to rule that out, current version is 2.11, will it work with S4?  I was planning on just running them on their own network directly from my PC but that no longer seems the case. The HU sees the ELL when I refresh the network but it doesn't see the controller across the street. I currently have the ELL daisy chained the end of my network. A couple of things, my network is 500k, is running the ELL at 57k at the end of network doable or am I wasting my time? Also the HU detects my last controller in the network but I can not turn on any channels on said controller. Next step would be to create another network at 57k to one controller and hope that works? I know I'm probably tripped up by something simple and it's driving me nuts!

19 minutes ago, Mr. P said:

The ELLs need a controller for power, if you don't want a controller then you would need the USB485 with booster to supply power.

http://store.lightorama.com/uscoadwivobo.html

So is it not possible to update firmware without it?

An entire LOR network runs at the same speed.  The ELL can only run up to 115K speed.  And as Mr. P said, the ELL needs power.  If you can build custom cables, you can power an ELL if you know what you're doing.

My suggestion would be to get the booster version of the USB adapter and run it on a second network for the ELL link across the street.

Firmware update is not likely your problem.  For a test, you could take one of your controllers inside and hook it up to your existing USB adapter and then to the ELL.  The controller will power the ELL.  Change that network to 56K and run your test to the controller across the street.