Light-O-Rama Forums

Pixie16- need help please

sacleonard1

I am running into some trouble getting my Pixie16 up and running.  Disclaimer- I am a total newbie to all of this. I ran into the unknown device issue at first and upgraded to the beta version and that resolved that. Yay. Next  I went to the configuration page and selected the cosmic color/ pixie config.In that window,  I think I kept everything at what defaults except changed the color order to RGB. I am using WS2811's.  Then when I go to the test page or the pixel console and try to control the lights, nothing happens.  My pixie board status light is on solid red. Any thoughts?  

I've run into this before, I could not get all my lights to turn on using the Hardware setup program. Another easy test is to set up a small sequence in Superstar or Sequence Editor that will test every light.

For example do a morph for string 1, see that it works as it's supposed to then do the same for every other string. Stagger the sequence so it's not doing all the strings at one time. (gives you time to verify each string)

Check colors in the same way.

Hope that makes sense.

Alan...

The way you state it, it sounds like some of your light worked in the Hardware Utility and maybe others did not.  I am saying that none of my strings work.  I have tried 3 different kinds of WS2811 strings and 1 kind of WS2812 ribbon on 2 different controllers.  I have set up one controller to be 5V and another for 12V (one of my types of WS2811 lights are 12V, the rest are 5V). And I get nothing. No lights come on at all in the hardware utility test or pixel console.  So it is not just an issue of some of them not working, it is all of them. I have not tried to hook them into the rest of my LOR network yet figuring that if I cannot get them to work in the Hardware Utility that they will not work in the sequence play.