Light-O-Rama Forums

NEWBIE CONFUSED LOR1 / LOR2

fitzer

I have just received delivery of my first 16 channel unit LOR 1. Now I have spend some time reading up on the demo LORI and am starting to understand it .Now I see this update to LOR11.

My question should I update now before I start to sequence ,remember I 'm a complete novice with LOR anyway or should I continue with Lor1 for this year and get a better understanding of Lor1 . I hope this is not a stupid question ;) But I am slightly confused

Thanks

Mick

If you've already bought the LOR software, then the update will be a free upgrade for you.

Any sequencing that you do on the LOR1 platform will be usable when/if you upgrade to LOR2. If you are more comfortable with LOR1, then it's perfectly okay to continue programming on that platform.

I would go with the upgrade. No reason not to take advantage of the new tools. The interface and workflow are almost identicle. The new platform is stable. Have no fear, jump in, the water is nice.

Don wrote:

If you've already bought the LOR software, then the update will be a free upgrade for you.

Any sequencing that you do on the LOR1 platform will be usable when/if you upgrade to LOR2. If you are more comfortable with LOR1, then it's perfectly okay to continue programming on that platform.

Just remember though, once you go LOR 2, you don't go back. (you all thought I was gonna say something else there...didn't ya?!) Once you convert your files and do stuff with them in LOR 2 you can not reopen them in LOR 1. Just be aware of that and make sure you back up your shows.

Greg

I was hestitant of switching also fitzer. I am a newbie (purchased the software in late Dec.) as well and I started sequencing with LOR I for a month before switching over. I found LOR II is very similar to LOR I, with added benefits that makes sequencing a whole lot easier. I say go ahead and do the upgrade!

I was in your same shoes recently.

Buy the starter kit and upgrade to LOR II (S2).