Light-O-Rama Forums

Tracks whats the big deal?

Michael Bryant

I have been trying to get a handle on what LOR2 Tracks are. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Tracks are the same as LOR1 Channels except Tracks, (another word for Channels)
can have different timings. If this is the case, why is everyone so wild about them?
I have always used timing of .02 for fast songs and .05 for slow songs and can hit the
beat marks just fine. Maybe someone could straighten me out.
Thanks Michael

Michael, I am still learning all the uses for tracks, but here is the big thing about tracks for me. It allows you to group select channels together; this is especially useful if you are trying to sequence many channels. You could put all your mini trees on one track, all your shrubs and trees on a different track, a yard or roof grid into a track, etc. This way, when you try to sequence, you don't have to scroll through 200 or more channels trying to find one item. If you sequence by musical instrument, say the sound of the drum or bells, all the items that you want to control during that sound can be placed in a new track so that they are easily accessible in one place for you. I had 160 channels last year and the use of tracks to group items drastically reduced the amount of time it took to sequence the program. Don't think I would have finished in time if the tracks had not been available.

Denny wrote: