Light-O-Rama Forums

10W Flood Max Extension Length

scodavis

Hello all,

I need to plan out my flood/controller layout so I know where I will place the controllers and, thus, how many extensions I need to buy.  I plan to have two sets of 8 of the 10W RGB floods on my house as I want them to be BRIGHT.

So, I have two questions for those that use the RGB 10W floods with the CMB24D controller (and presumably with the LOR power adapter, but I don't know that piece is as critical to the equation).

1.  How long is the longest distance of wire that you personally use from controller to flood?
2.  With that above-mentioned length, do you notice any brightness dropoff or lag due to the wire length?

And as an additional question, perhaps to LOR itself:

3.  Is there any officially-documented "maximum length" before noticeable brightness dropoff?

Thank you, everybody!

-Scott

I have been using 30 10w LED floods for the past several years for my mega arch and mega tree tower.

The max run of extension wire from the floods to controllers is around 40' with 5' being the minimum.

I see no difference in the brightness of the floods.

IMG_3270_zps8f1448e6.jpg

IMG_3267_zpsda91a977.jpg

IMG_3266_zps0eb45054.jpg

DSC05078_zps1a2b25e2.jpg

Thanks, Tom - I also notice how beautifully your display illuminates the snow.  We don't get snow in Fresno :P

Thanks for the reply!

-Scott

Like Tom my max length is 40ft. Everything works great.  Here's a video. You can see more videos on my youtube channel.

I've personally used a LOR 10w flood 48' from a CMB16D controller.  (I added 2 16-ft extensions)  I had zero lag and it didn't seem like any drop in brightness, although I can't be totally certain there wasn't any.  Didn't look like it, though.