Light-O-Rama Forums

What is needed to test Holdiay Coror Smart Pixels with PIXCon 16 board

cgiambruno

I have been reading through the threads, and I was unable to find anything to answer my question.  If I missed it, I apologize in advance.

I am new to pixels, and jumped in head first.  I purchased a pixcon16 board, and smart pixels from Holiday Coro.  I was able to configure the board, and when in test mode, I can get the pixels to work.  Now, I want to play with the pixels and learn how to sequence them.  Based on my reading, I cannot us the hardware utility to test the different pixels?  So what do I use?  I currently have a G1 showtime Director, and know that I need to upgrade it to a G3.  If I purchase that, and then connect the PIXCon16 to the G3 Director, can I then use the hardware utility?  If I still cannot, how do I get the pixels to work so I can play with sequences?

Thank you in advance for your responses.  

The Hardware Utility isn't for sequencing. 

The Hardware Utility program is used to manage the hardware that you use to control your lights. This Hardware can be light controllers, Digital IO card and/or X10 CM11A controller.

Edited by Santas Helper

I think you are asking how to test in the HU like you can with light strings and RGB dumb pixels. You can't do smart pixels in the HU like you can the other lights, your best bet is to just create a sequence.

Best way to get going is to get a copy of a sequence that someone else has done that has pixels in it.

Delete everything except the part of the sequence with the pixels you will be using in the sequence. 

Change the pixel assignments to match your pixels .  (unit number / universe and channels)

Run the sequence to see how it works.

Make changes to sections to see what the affect is.

Set unit number, then add that unit into the SE. Make sure the LOR control pane is running. It should work straight away.

On 7/13/2016 at 7:23 AM, Mr. P said: