Light-O-Rama Forums

Pixel out of alignment

Cheski

I am new to pixels and did get the Pixcon 16 to work.  I built a pixel tree consisting of 8 strings of 50 pixels per string (400 total pixels).  These are folded in half to creat 16 strips.  Some of the pixels are not aligned as programed.  Such as when a green/red  wave runs up the tree , some of the green pixels are in with the red and visa versa.  It's close to being correct, but is slightly mis-aligned.  The pixel port set up is as follows:  Pixel Type: WS2811/12, High speed, Max pixels/port: 340,           

Port       start universe  Start Channel    # pixels     end Universe    end channel   zig zag 

Port 1           1                      1                  300                2                     390                6

Port 2           3                      1                  100                3                     300                2

I sequenced the pixels in Xlights using a zig zag pattern.  Do I need to zig zag in the sequence and the controller?

Is this set up correct?

In addition, once the Pixcon is configured can it be connected directly to a PC and can the settings (channels, # pixels, zig zags, etc.) be changed without having to connect to the router? 

Thanks

Rick

The one thing I question just looking at it is the zig zag. You have it set at 6 means the controller is thinks the strand goes up 6 lights then starts over at the bottom.  (Assuming your strands are hung vertically) So if your strand goes up 25 lights it should be set for 25 if that's how you have the prop set up in xLights.

Yes the controller can be connected directly to the computer.  I have mine hooked up to the LAN port. My show computer is not connected to the rest of my home network so I didn't have to worry about a router and overlapping IP assignments.