Light-O-Rama Forums

G3-MP3 Schedule Change

aurickle

Hello all,

This is my first year with the G3-MP3 Director.  In the past I've simply used a laptop to run the show, which made it very easy to change the schedule as I'd just use the Schedule Editor.  But with the Director I need to use the Hardware Manager's MP3 tab.  The catch is that tab requires you to set the schedule, then add the songs, then create the show and finally write it to the card.  So basically you seem to have to rebuild the entire show for the sake of changing its schedule.  Nor does it appear possible to load the show into the Hardware Manager to then make desired edits to the schedule.

Given that I have a total of 50 sequences in Show 1, that's quite a pain!  

Am I simply missing something?

I ask because over the course of the month during which the show will be running, the time of sunset changes pretty dramatically.  It would be nice to adjust the schedule a few times to compensate.  Is there a convenient way to do this that I'm missing?

I've tried looking on the memory card but the CFG file is encoded and so can't be edited.  There doesn't appear to be any other file that would contain the schedule.

Thanks!

Unfortunately no, there isn't.  You have to rebuild for each and every schedule change.   I used to whole heartedly believe an MP3 was the best way to go.  When mine went belly up 2 years ago and was forced to use the computer to run my show, WOW, I had so much more flexibility and options, I can change a sequence in the show on the fly and NOT disrupt the show at all, unlike the MP3 Director which requires you to remove the card, stopping everything in it's tracks!

I may buy another MP3 Director in the future, but it won't be for running my show, perhaps a neighbors house.