Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie Question: Do I Need a Sub Panel for 2 Controllers?

coachdove

Hi Everyone!

I'm a true newbie here, having used a 6 channel Mr. Christmas box (plays the midi file music and does all the work) this past Christmas and am ready to "run with the big dogs" now.  I recently purchased a couple of 30Amp, 16 Channel Residential LOR Controllers used.  And I'm considering buying 1 more when the summer sale happens, bundled with the Unlimited controller Software. (just playing with the Demo right now)

My question is, do I need to install a sub panel (permanent or temporary) for the power to these 2 (or 3) controllers?  If so, what is the best way to go about that? My home has a 200 AMP service panel in the garage.  It is pretty full, with only 3 blanks left (1 on left, 2 on right).  I only have 2 exterior outlets on my home and both are on the same 15 AMP GFI breakers.  Last Christmas, my Mr. Christmas box had a max rating of 12 AMPS and 1440 Watts, so I was able to run everything off the one outside plug (nly tripped the GFI once all season), but I used my garage door opener plug in the garage (it has its own 15 AMP dedicated breaker) to power things like an inflatable manger scene, and my Merry CHRISTmas sign from HolidayCoro separately.  

My wife likes to have all the lights on after 10pm (when we stop the blinking) but I found out we were exceeding the max wattage with everything on, on the Mr. Christmas and blew the fuse.  So I am sure we will be well over the 15 AMP limit of my exterior plugs this year with all the ligths I bought on sale after Christmas.

My 2015 display will have alot of incandescents (icicle lights on roof in W/G/R, same on 3 synchronized arches, incan rope lights, etc.) mixed in with some M5 LEDs (mega tree), so I am worried about my amperage.  I have a Kill-A-Watt and a clamp meter for testing channel loads, but just wondering if I need to invest in a dedicated sub panel.