Light-O-Rama Forums

G3 Mp3 director

ebrown1972

For those of you who have used the g3 director with pixels how well did it work? Was there any lag? I planned on using my older lenovo laptop but I have some lag issues. I did just order some more ram for the laptop and hope that will take care of the lag but if not I will probably buy the g3 director unit. I do like the idea of just putting the director unit in an enclosure along with my transmitter and keeping it in the yard. I plan on sticking with LOR products and really have no plans on using a raspberry pi or non LOR products. Not for now anyway. Just looking for some input on those of you who have used the g3 director. Thanks.

I have been using the G3 MP3 Director for the last 2 years and it controls my entire show.  I have both CCBs and CCPs plus 12 LOR 16 channel controllers running off of it.  I use both the high speed and normal speed networks off of it.

It works great!  No complaints. 

Edited by wbaker4

Wbaker4,

How many rgb channels are you running? I have used the mini director in the past and it was easy to set up. How easy is the g3 director to set up? Is it easy to set up both the normal and high speed networks on it? Any info on set up would be great. I may try and buy one in the mad grab sale. Thanks.

You can only run lor products on the G3 not aftermarket pixels

Not true if you get the ELOR product from San Devices,.  It will let you control E1.31 protocol based devices from the G3-MP3 controller without needing a PC!  

I am working with that right now using a few E681 boards as well.

My setup currently uses 1 CCP setup and 2 CCB setups.  I will be hooking GE Color Effects lights to the E681 controllers.  I bought many Color Effects light sets a few years ago and plan to use them this year.

Edited by wbaker4