Light-O-Rama Forums

Controller not recognized

Bany

I have 5 controllers 3 LOR160xW and 2 CBT16PC.  I have been using LOR since 2007. The hardware utility will not recognize 1 of the LOR160xW. 

I have tried everything I can find on the forums: wires, addresses, pins, using RJ11, but cannot get the net to recognize this controller even when the only one on the network.

I did not try to change the COM chip because I can't even find it.

What are my options?  New controller, new board, have Board repaired by LOR?

I know what a new controller costs but what are ball park numbers for repairs and/or new board?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.   Thanks.  Bany

I've been mentioning this a bunch of times but slowly getting the word out. Check the wire fingers of the RJ45 connectors. If they are pushed in and don't spring back out all the way, they probably won't contact the Cat5 cable when you plug it in. I had one controller this year, both connectors had the same issue.

Thanks for the replies.

I have checked all the pins based on your previous posts.

However I do not know how to reset a board and can't find anything in the manual.

More help please.

Thanks.  Bany

My #2 controller this year, which worked fine last year, got it out and connected it only to find that only some of the time would it connect. The rest of the time it wouldn't, nor would it pass on the RS485 to the next controller. I looked in the RJ45 fingers and on both RJ45 sockets, they looked fine, but in this case, they were all stuck in and none were retracting back up to a normal position. So the Cat5/6 cables weren't actually touching the finger of the connector. I so very carefully pulled these back up into a normal position and sure enough, it came to life. Its outside now running as it should.

Hi dbltrukr:

My board does not look like the one that you linked me to.