Light-O-Rama Forums

Holidaycoro pixel mega tree

uncledan

Anyone bought one of these kits? $799 for 1800 channel pixel tree seems like a deal compared to cc r's. Any input on these? I know it's late. I'm planning on buying sequences needed. I'm very new to rgb and have no pixels at this time. Thanks for any help!

http://www.holidaycoro.com/product-p/812.htm

Will this work with existing LOR network? Do I need to get an adaptor/dongle? to E1.31. Currently running 500+ channels with 40 channels of rgb with cmb24d. Would more than one universe be needed? A little help please... I've been dreading stepping foot into rgb, and pixels is even scarier.

I have NEVER had a bad experience with Holiday Coro.  All his products are top notch. 

Realize this is a DYI project not a plug and play like CCR's. 

May be worth the assembly price if you are just starting out. 

I was definitely going to buy enclosures and have them assemble. I'm new to pixels. Not sure what I'm getting exactly and what I will need to get connected to existing network. The kit comes with a cat5. That makes me assume i can daisychain into existing lor controller. I thought you had to have dongle when going to dmx. I'm new to this pixel stuff.... Thanks

That system runs on E1-31 so you don't use a dmx dongle you give the controller an IP address so it runs off your computer lan line it does not connect to any lor controllers however you can sequence it with lor software

As far as I can gather after countless hours on internet.... I need the actidongle from holiday coro and a cat5 from the dongle to the controller. This is was holiday coro website said anyways. I'm lost but I ordered the 16 pixel tree kit and what I hope is right. Always next year if I end up lost and confused with wrong pieces of equipment. I know why I waited so long to get into pixels..

OK, I have never considered smart pixel items before because of the cost. So, I know NOTHING. I hope my questions aren't to stupid.