Light-O-Rama Forums

Complete newbie to the world

aesl1982

SO im doing so research on controllers. ive always had a very large display just without the show. id like to step it up.  ive been looking at the light o rama and the animated lighting controllers. the biggest difference I see is that the LOR I have to program my own sequences  is this true.. the animated lighting loads them on a sd card and you just plug that in. does LOR have the same kind of thing?

Someone, somewhere, has to program your sequences on either platform. Either you do the programming, or someone else does the programming. Neither platform has the abilities built into the software/hardware to respond to sound. Either way, someone is doing something to program the lights.

Yes, you can run LOR controllers via the Showtime Director or mini-director.

Yah I know someone has to program it. But does light o rama offer it to where I can buy the sequence and song already placed on a sd card and just Pop thst into mini director.

Oh, okay.
When I saw "newbie to the world" I thought you meant you were just born. LOL :lol:

Welcome to this crazy forum. :)

• Like 1

Thank you. What is the difference in the mini director vs. The G3 director. And can I have the G3 director swapped out on the showtime central starter kit

I don't know anything about the directors but I will say, this is not a plug and play hobby. You must plan and assign the channels as you wish, whether or not you buy a sequence/music or do your own. As Don said, someone has to program the sequences. If your first year, there's plenty of people who will sell sequences out there that will take care of your needs but you must decide how to set them up and be careful of the current draws. The result with this system is that you have total control over what you see and the rewards are great when your family and friends see what you created.

Edited by dgrant