Light-O-Rama Forums

Holiday Coro DIY RGB LED Floods with DMX Controller

Maine Lights

Sorry if this has been covered many times.  I am new to the DMX world and I was looking to add floods to the front of the house for my Christmas display.  Came Across the Holiday Coro RGB LED floods with DMX controller.  They seems pretty cheap and seeing I would only need 5 to cover the front of the house it loos like it would be pretty simple.  But I am wondering what additional supplies will I need besides the housings and how had is it to hook up to LOR and program.  any help would be greatly appreciated and if any other vendors for this type of lighting would be great.  Thanks in advance!

ah! well this is how I do it : I run a separate rs485 jack from a separate port on the computer, then into Holiday Coro Acti-dongle, then to Seasonal Entertainments

Blender, ( this combines both the dmx and the power from the power supply into 1 4-core waterproof cable), this then goes out through the window to the floods. Of

course my floods are the Rainbow Extreme's which require the 4 core wire.  I know you can do it a cheaper way but I wanted to be able to expand in the future. You just

need to do some more reading on the Holiday Coro site. Lots of info there. Be aware that the Acti-dongle only sopports 1 512-ch. universe. So what YOU would need

looks like- a DMX dongle of some type, a power supply, cat-5 cable, a rs-485 (one that runs LOR, and one for the DMX),5 3-way spliters, and at least 4 more chunks

of cat-5 cable that runs between each of your flood lights, (you will have to daisey chain them.)also don't forget to shrink-wrap your connections.And you will also

have to learn to solder unless you already know how to do this. Really you just need to read more before jumping in it's kinda more fun that way-  Good Luck!!

Big  Joe

Maine Lights if you only want 5 rgb floods and not really dmx just use lor's flood lights and their dc board