Light-O-Rama Forums

DMX / E1.31 live show

zeighty

Hi Experts! 

I am a newbie this year and have 9 songs sequenced for my 2013 show. It took a lot of time, as you know - to sequence and to setup. 

Here's what I want to do. 

I am looking to do a live show instead of a sequenced show. I have seen a YouTube video using a Enttec Open DMX USB interface and Madrix.  The results were amazing. 

Help with software choices would be great (I cannot afford Madrix)..  I have looked at Lightjams and it might be a contender, but I would like to find open source that cost is a bit less.  

Hardware seems straight forward, but I have been wrong so many times before. 

Any input, opinion or advice will be so appreciated. 

There aren't any free software products out there that can do what Madrix does.

Lightjams comes the closest and for $139 is a very good deal.

Your question might better be asked on one of the DIY forums or Controlbooth.com

I've been guilty of having champagne tastes with a beer budget also.

I have noticed that there have been 34 views of my post, yet no responses. Perhaps a bad time of year to be asking or per haps I wasn't clear. 

I read my post and perhaps I can simplify it. 

I want to control LOR controllers with software such as Madrix and not use Sequencing software at all (S3).  

The most important part of my original post is the software. Madrix would be wonderful, but at $499 I really cannot afford it. The only DMX I have done is with ETC controllers, so I don't have a lot of knowledge of the various software applications for DMX control.  

So, once again, i humbly seek your advice and suggestions.  

• 2 weeks later...

It looks like Lightjams will be the choice.

If I can get it in gear I will post my thoughts and results.

I have also been experimenting with SuperStar Instant Sequencer. May workout...

Stay tuned...

There aren't any free software products out there that can do what Madrix does.