Light-O-Rama Forums

3,800 Channels of Holiday Goodness

ryebred

Below are some videos from my first year with an RGB pixel tree. I also added two ten foot tall towers of light this year. We have a total of 21,000 lights in the display and 3,800 channels.

Christmas Eve Sarajevo

Wizards of Winter

It looks like they came in lots of 50, so should I assume that they are in one 50 count string? If so, how long was each string? Obviously they are 5VDC and since you were able to address each one, its a smart string. Sorry, I'm totally new to RGB and other than the basics, I am trying to learn what's needed. Certainly a DC controller card(s). I would love to do a megatree such as yours but trying to figure out exactly what's needed to accomplish that is the in the learning for me.

Let me ask further please...saves you time ;)  Just exactly what is needed to get all the lights onto your tree? As in, number of pixels/strings of pixels, power supplies, controller cards and anything else you had to get to make it work. Your tree turned out fantastic and other than me acquiring a lot of CCR's, I'm hoping there's a less expensive way to achieve the same as what you did.

Here is my parts list. I ordered these through Ray Wu. You can get them on Aliexpress but I would recommend contacting Ray and asking for a custom shipping quote. It will save you at least $50 on shipping. Note that 2x below would mean two lots. Most of the cables come in a lot size of ten so two lots would be 20 cables.

Parts List

2x - 5v 60 amp power supplies - http://www.aliexpress.com/item/350W-Dual-Output-Switching-Power-Supply-88-264VAC-input-5V-350W-output-CE-and-ROHS-approved/289599937.html

1x - 3 core T type waterproof splitter - http://www.aliexpress.com/item/3core-T-type-waterproof-splitter-white-color-the-male-connect-s-diameter-13-5mm/601823340.html