Light-O-Rama Forums

Unit 5 giving "mixed signals"

gwallman1

I've been using the same CTB-16 controllers for several years without any problems.  Now I'm getting some errors that I can't make heads or tails out of for unit 5.

Hardware Utility refresh sometimes finds 4 units, sometimes finds 5 units.  When it does find 5, unit 5 says "unknown device???"  I've tried unplugging and re-plugging, rebooting the PC, changing CAT5 cables and the ports they are plugged in to.....nothing changes that outcome on the Hardware Utility.

HOWEVER, the unit itself displays the steady red light indicating it is communicating successfully with the PC.  If I unplug the CAT5 cable or turn off the LOR control panel, then it begins blinking like the other boards.  So the status light on the unit itself is giving me every impression it is receiving information from the PC without any issues.

Anyone have any ideas?  I'm about the unhook all of the lights connected to it and hook only this unit up to alone to see if the utility finds it, if I'm able to reset the unit id, etc.  That is the only other thought I have.

I did see reference in another thread to "resetting the unit."  But I've never had to do that and don't see that anywhere in the instruction manuals.  So if anyone thinks that might help, could you please advise how that is done?

Thanks in advance!

To Reset an older CTB16PC controller.

Unplug Controller

Remove the jumper from the pins next to the Cat5 jack {right side of cat5, jumper should be on 2nd set of pins}

Plug in Power

Red LED should flash quickly

Unplug Power

Replace Jumper from where you removed it.

Plug in Power

Unit will be reset! 

NOTE: This WILL NOT change or reset the units ID #, whatever ID it was assigned, it will keep until it is changed with the Hardware Utility.