Light-O-Rama Forums

G3-MP3 Director help

kharrell76

I am new to the LOR equipment this year. I have done all my programming, and have all my sequences done. I have tested everything with my computer and everything works great. Today I started mounting my G3-MP3 director. I connected the cat5 cable from my number 1 LOR box to the director. I have no screen display at all, however the status light under the bottom of the director is a constant red. I was thinking the LOR box powered the Director, is that wrong??? do I need the power adapter mentioned in the user manual??? My cat5 cable is less than 50' from the number 1 box. or do I have a defective director, with the status light being on and no display?? just at a loss!!!  Any help would be great. Thanks in advance

I know my DC-MP3 Showtime Director gets its power from a powered controller, I would think the G3 should be the same {and from reading the G3-MP3 Director manual looks to do just that as well, get power from a powered controller}. 

So you shouldn't need the adapter.  If the cat5 between the controller and G3 Director is possibly defective, that could be the issue.  Try another cat5 cable and see if that works.  Or it could possibly be you have a loose cat5 jack in the controller, can you wiggle it around a bit?  if so, that could also be an issue as to why the controller isn't powering the Director unit.

• 3 weeks later...

Hello All! After dipping my toe in the water last year with my first pro 1602 and some RTG sequences, I have made a quantum leap this year to creating 3 of my own main sequences, including superstar sequences for my  two new CCRs and just added a G3 MP3 1602 to double my show. I got my CCRs to work with the one 1602, so I have accomplished the basic sequence steps necessary to run the superstar sequence  with the main sequence.

I have searched in earnest, but can't find some info I need.