Light-O-Rama Forums

Stupid question on DMX

David Spangler

While reading through the forums I got a little confused. My understanding, and I'm new to DMX, is if you are using LOR and DMX from your computer you run your LOR controller as usual and you add a dongle, whether it be a Enttec, Actidongle, or other, with S3 advanced, which is what I'm doing and it works great. In some threads I think I've read guys using LORs RS485 adapter to run dmx. Is this correct? Is this raw DMX, 1.31, which I haven't even got into yet? Really don't want to waste anybody's time, just a short answer would be great.

Thank you.

You can use the LOR dongle for DMX its one the cheaper and easier ways to add DMX.  Depending on how many channels of DMX or what your trying to accomplish will determine if you should also jump into the 1.31 fields.  I

As for license Advanced is really the only way to go.  Not only for DMX and 1.31 but in general with tracks as well the ability to utilize everything in LOR.

Let us know what you want to accomplish and we can try to direct you in the best way possible.

Williams

Thank you, that answered my question. I'm good with what I have for now. I didn't know you could use the LOR  dongle for DMX. I'm using two LOR controllers with the the Actidongle with good results.

are you running the controllers in DMX?  You lose a few features on the LOR controllers by not running them native through LOR.  Yes you can use the LOR dongle as a DMX output.

Running the LOR controllers in DMX mode will increase your network traffic and might slow down some fast-acting sequences, FYI.

Probably best to use the LOR controllers as they were designed; on an LOR network.

Also, running the LOR USB485 as a DMX dongle is not a good idea, since the addresses will be off by +1 and causes confusion.

This has been covered in previous forums with great detail already.