Light-O-Rama Forums

DMX Actidongle question

David Spangler

I'm still learning dmx and I want to add more props. I'm using LOR for part of my lighting and Holiday Coro Actidongle for the dmx part of my show. I got everything working fine with the actidongle, 5 coro stars, with the dumb lights, controllers, and the dc power injector. My question is to add another prop which will be a star on the roof do I just add to my cat 5 cable from the last coro star then add another dc power injector at the star? Is the dmx signal strong enough to reach the star about 40' away? Or should I add a y connector at the actidongle? Am I correct in saying you just keep adding channels up to 512 on the same cat5 cable and just add dc as needed?  

You should have a read of this thread:

http://forums.lightorama.com/index.php?/topic/26609-is-it-possible-to-setup-multiple-enttec-pro-dongles-in-s3-390/

It seems that the "Actidongle" does not have a unique ID. What this means, is that if you try to add a second Actidongle to add another DMX universe, the software cannot tell the difference between the two units.

Regards,

Alan.

Alan C.

I'm not doubting you, because I don't know, but on the Holiday Coro site is the statement under the dongle information, "One full universe per dongle (512 channels).  More than one dongle can be used on a PC for additional universes/channels." How it's done I don't have a clue. Maybe someone else knows how.

If you look at the FAQ section of the Actidongles, it does say that only one ActiDongle may be used with LOR at a time. With other adaptors that use unique IDs, then the use of multiple DMX adaptors can be achieved with LOR.

Regards,

Alan.

Thank you Alan I didn't see that comment in the FAQ. I was looking at the specs where it said you could. If you are using the actidongle would it be possible to add a different make like the Enntec and use two different dongles? Or does LOR still need a unique ID on both dongles?