Light-O-Rama Forums

going for CCR's this year

Mr Grunts

Ok Im in my second year this yr, and im loving every min of it. This yr i want to try doing some ccr ribbions, i figure about 4 for now. I know im going to be doing a lot of reading and watching the vids on how/tos but i would like to start ordering what i need now, problem, I dont know what all i need. I hope the wise members of the forum can help. Like i said this is my second yr and i started small, I only have one controller ( 16ch ) and my software is  3.7.0 basic but i did upgrade with the superstar sequence editor. from this point is where i need help. what else am i gona need ( buy ) to do 4, 5m ccr ribbions? This way i can order everything and wile its on its way i can be reading and sequencing,then when they arrive it will be like christmas to me. lol.  I Thank you for any advice anyone can give.

Ordering your CCRs all at the same time is a good idea.  The colors can vary slightly from one year to the next.

All you need extra is comm cables to daisy-chain the CCR controllers. 

Your license level needs to be enough to cover the number of controllers you have connected.  I recommend advanced.

When you get the CCRs handle the ribbons carefully and gently.  People who are bull-in-the-china-shop types of people should avoid the ribbons completely.

• Like 1

I think you might also need an RG485 adapter for your ribbons so you an put them on the High Speed network ( If your using gen2 controllers) and update you software to ver 3.9.......I'm planning on getting CCP's and I was under the asssumption that we also need these.........Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.