Light-O-Rama Forums

Another Newbie looking for all the advice he canget

Premier

Okay, so after seeing all the wonderful lighting sequences on TV News broadcasts and YouTube during this last season I finally talked my better half into going for a full animated Christmas at our small shop in oregon for this next season. I downloaded the LOR Software a week ago and have been totally obsessed with it. Been programming a 32 channel show for next year ( have 4 sequences done and working on # 5 ), and am sure after the wife sees it in action she will allow me to buy more controllers and even more lights. I did scoop up on a ton of great extension cords and Holiday Lights right after Christmas. I haven't purchased the controllers yet. So for the newbie here are my questions...

1.) Best time to buy? Thinking about waiting for the Feb/March sale but I read somewhere that there is a new GEN3 coming out and the Controller Kits may no longer be available.

2.) I have two great intro's sequenced so far for my planned show(s), but having a complete mental block on what would be a great closer other than the Carol of the Bartenders by Bob Rivers ( anti- drinking and driving song ) Does anyone have a great song or songs they like using as a closer???

3.) Having issues with the whole foreground/background thing. What is a proper way ( if there is one ) to do things like fades/chases/Shimmers and being able to adjust intensity all at the same time?

4.) Lastly and most importantly I quess I better ask before I find out too late, other than Controllers, My PC, the FM Transmitter and the connector for USB, is there anything else I should look to be planning on buying? Would hate to get this thing up and ready and then find out I am missing something and can't start the show.

Haven't even turned a single bulb on yet and already I am hooked......

Hmmm, I notice one thing that is missing from your list you may want to buy.....

LIGHTS!!!

Edited by magish01

thanks for the replies.