Light-O-Rama Forums

OMG! DMX what do I do?

drkngl417

So I have read every post on the DMX topic and I am more confused then when I started (which isn't saying much, already confused). Here is my question. How many DMX universe's can LOR run and do I need a ENTTEC Pro for each? I want software that I will be able to keep adding more and more rgb lighting for my halloween display each year until I have a super hugh display. I am looking for the best and easiest way to do this. I am wanting software that will run and many universe's as it can. I don't mind if each need dongle. I am just starting out on this and need as much help as I can get.

I have been looking at the following... LOR S3 Advanced and Light Show Pro Commercial. I have set a budget of 500 for the year and if I go Light show I have blown the whole thing on software. This year I am just wanting to do some floods and color fades to music and typical effects, nothing to fancy, and keep adding to. But I want to get the software and hardware needed to run the most outragous in the future.

Michael

Here is my question. How many DMX universe's can LOR run and do I need a ENTTEC Pro for each?

999 in theory and yes you will need an enttec pro for each universe or compatible dongle but there are better ways to run DMX than the dongle method. When LOR released E1.31 it opened up several better options then hanging a dongle off your pc for each universe. Do a little reading in the E1.31 section of the forums. Neither an enttec open nor e1.31 will control your lights directly. Both are just a delivery method to get the data out of your pc and into your light controllers. You still need to add into your budget controllers. Whether it be a "dumb" rgb controller or a "smart" pixel controllers you still need one or the other to make lights come on and that choice will depend entirely on the lights you are using.