Light-O-Rama Forums

dmx terminator

cobra513

Does a dmx terminator have to be 120 ohm or can it be a lower or higher value, if so by how much. Does cat5e cable length affect size of terminator. I currently have a 150 ohm resistoras the terminator and seem to have issues of certain lights working randomly and randomly having certain lights that don't work.

• Like 1

I cant find it right off the bat, but I think there is a discussion here about that.

However, if it helps, the characteristic impedence of cat5e @100Mhz is 100 Ohms.

I would rework your terminator to 100 Ohms and see if that helps...

Also, what are you using to drive your DMX?

Bob

Sorry this is my first year with both LOR and DMX. Bob not too sure what your asking about but here's what I've got. 6 poles each holding 3 5050 rgb led's connected to a 3 channel dmx contoller daisy chained together and connected to a 2nd LOR usb rs485b adapter being run by LOR software. This is a smaller version of Tim Fischer's North Poles and is a redesign of the corostar from Holiday coro. Steve I would have but RS didn't have any, I grabbed 2 or 3 different sizes and started with the 150 ohm since it seemed to be the closest.

Not sure if this is what your looking for:

http://www.dfd.com/whyterm.html

" The DMX512 specification states the cable should have a characteristic impedance of 120 ohms (although most DMX512 techies agree a value between 100 and 120 ohms is satisfactory). A value of 120 ohms is usually specified for proper DMX512 termination. "