Light-O-Rama Forums

leaping arches

JF1993

Hey everyone,

I really want to introduce four leaping arches into my show next year, but I'm still a newbie here and could use a few pointers. My question is about how many lights per string/channel are nessecary for about a 3 to 4 foot tall arch that has eight channels. I went out to Menard's and bought 16 strings of orange leds for the Halloween show (each string has 30 lights). I am planning on getting purple led lights for the other two arches, but I was wondering if 30 lights per channel is really enough for these.

Thanks,

JF1993

I have around a 3' arch I used with a 6 Channel Gemmy last year, I have a single standard 100ct incandescent string for each channel (600 in total) I'm sure there are calculators around that will help you estimate approximately how much lights you need for a desired arch. However the amount of lights needed depends on many different things, the circumference of the pipe, how tight/ dense you wind the lights, etc... etc...

First of all, I think you would be better off using an odd number of channels. I have 5 arches, 7 channels each using the sleeve method. 100 lights per sleeve, one sleeve per channel. An odd number gives you a "flow" over the top . Just my opinion.

• Like 1

Mine are eight 11" long sleeves, 100ct mini incands per sleeve, 11" long due to the bulb spacing, wrapped on 1 1/2" pvc, slid over 1/2" support pvc support pipe, 2' rebar in the ground hold the 7'-something pipe in the ground, abt 6' long, 2'-something high.

Takes abt 20 mins to wrap one sleeve. http://forums.lightorama.com/uploads/imported/279600=15507-2010-07-03%2022-57-46.972.jpg

U may want to consider ccr arches. For the price of 1 controller you can have a CCR making (2) 8' arches (no fuss no muss)....I have 4 CCRs for 8 arches in the front of my show