Light-O-Rama Forums

Programming HolidayCoro DMX controllers

zanclus

Hello Everyone,

I just purchased some (5) of the 3 ch. dmx controllers alone with some rgb modules, from HolidayCoro I am trying to program them with their dongle, and for some reason I keep getting No controller found. I watched several videos on programing them and folled all the steps ( I think). When I just run the controllers without any imput the cycke through the default program just fine SO I know the controllers at least work . Now for the dumb questions.... When I plug the usb dongle into my laptop:

Is the power provided by the laptops usb or do I have to Add power to the controller? I am New at this and am still confused about a few things and after 4 hrs of trying to get this to work im ready to burn it. lol I would like to be able to use these this season. I am sure it is just a somple wiring thing and although there are videos on the programming they dont include the Physical Wiring aspects.. I.E what cables are needed and how to hook them to where... Thanks for any help anyone can give Zann...

you must add power to the controller. I would suggest plugging lights into the controller also so you can see it cycling. Once you see that hit program. If the lights go out for a second and then back to cycling you're good to go. Remember your LOR control panel which is in the taskbar must be shutdown and the LOR usb dongle must be unplugged.

tks for the info i got them programmed yeah!!!! now just another Q when we set up we LOR controllers we daiey chain them with cat 5 would i just run another cat5 from my last lor controller to the dmx? or do I run from my computer? well thats 2 questions lol

but by running 2 seperate Dongles does LOR sequences still run the rgbs? Sorry if I sound stupid but I am leagally blind and thought I get by sometimes things slip past....